Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

The Children
Thurs. 09.13.01 - 2:30 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:


I had just gotten my son (7) up to get him ready for school, he and I were watching the burning building from the first plane impact.. How do you explain something like this?! He asks, "Why did the plane hit the building?"

Because there was a bad man in the plane.

"Are there people in the building?"

Yes.

"Are they dead now?"

Yes, some of them.

"Why did the bad man hurt those people?"

I don't know, that's what bad men do.

"Were there mommies and daddies in the airplanes too?"

Yes.

"And they are dead too?"

Yes.

(Now the second plane swoops down and we both watch it hit.)

"More bad men?"

Yes.

I took him to school and he didn't really talk on the trip there.. he just doesn't comprehend any of this.. hell.. neither do I.

- Taken from Off-Topic.net



I don't want my children to ever have to experience this. Hell, I want to know that I will have children. If we go to war, I don't have that certainty. Though nothing is certain anymore, I guess.

I have so much in my head, and I feel like I haven't really gotten it out. I also feel like I don't know how to. I guess I could start with WHAT i'm feeling:

Sad: For all of those people who woke up on Tuesday morning, thinking that it was going to be a day just like any other day. And it wasn't. They lost their lives so TRAGICALLY. So horribly. The business men and women in the WTC, the Pentagon, the firemen, the policemen, the people aboard the hijacked planes. The fear they must have felt. I feel so hollow inside thinking about the loss of their lives.

Confused: As to why people could do this to one another. We're all a part of the human race. Why are we destroying one another? Why are we content to murder, rape and beat one another? Inflict pain and sorrow? I've hear news reports that most of what has been recovered are body parts. Is that all a human life is worth to some people?

Angry: When I think about how innocent lives were ended because of these cruel terrorists. We see how they live every day. Bombings, Poverty, Death. Has it made them that harsh that they wish to inflict this upon other people? Do it to your own country! Not ours! This is not what America is about! I want to scream. Why is it that people like Hitler, Hussein, and Bin Laden are (or have been) allowed to walk the face of this Earth. I will never understand this.

Thankful: That my family is ok. I'm okay. For now at least. I'm thankful that my grandma is not here to witness this. On Tuesday, as I sat in my cubicle, perched closely to the speakers from my pc, listening to CNN radio via the web, I thought how odd it was. That we hadn't evolved much at all. Just 50 years earlier, my grandmother was doing the same thing when the U.S. was bombed by Japan at Pearl Harbor. I imagine she was doing the very same thing. I'm thankful that she does not have to witness this, though I still wish that she were here with me. To comfort me as we go through this. I'm hopeful that my brother and sister are too young to really understand what is going on. I was about their age when Desert Storm erupted, and I still don't remember much of it. But then again, they were fighting THERE. In Kuwait. It's possible that we will have to fight a war HERE. That we will live in FEAR. Every day. Until this "war" is over.

 

previous   next