Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

NY - Day 3
Sun. 09.02.01 - Hella late, EST

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

This is part three of four on my diary of my trip to New York. For the sake of anonimity, Girl #1 will be known as "Lisa" and Girl #2 will be known as "Nora."

And so it continues...

Early sunday morning, I heard Nora and Lisa get up and leave for their early morning church service. However, about 30 minutes later, Nora returned. I was still half asleep so I didn't realize at first that Lisa wasn't with her.

Nora sat down on the bed across from me. "We missed our service."

I sat up. "Oh no, what happened?"

"How do you feel about being on your own today?"

"huh?"

"Yeah, how do you feel about being on your own today?"

"Uhm, i'm ok.."

"Yeah, cuz Lisa's downstairs right now, and like, we missed our service and then she just started crying and I guess she has a lot of problems back home, and I didn't know, and I guess that's why she took this trip- to get away. And so she asked me to spend the day with her so we could talk and stuff. So I guess we can just do sightseeing tomorrow instead"

"uh, yeah.. ok."


After she left, I was SO angry and hurt. What the hell just happened? Are they lying? Did I do something to deserve this? I knew there was something i didn't like about Lisa. I thought Nora was my friend.. how could she pull this on me? I needed someone to talk to so I called HB. He was still asleep of course, but he was so sweet and supportive. We came up with the idea that I should probably try to get in touch with my friend Chad, who was also visiting NY that weekend. Chad was in NY for a family wedding, and we had mentioned that maybe we'd have time to get together while we were both visiting NY. So I called him, but it turned out that he had a BBQ to go to that day, but he said that if I wanted to go out that night, to call him. So that left me with the whole day to myself. I could spend it in the hotel room, or I could get some courage and explore the city alone. After thinking about it, I realized that Nora really wasn't my friend. Friends don't do things like that to eachother. I wasn't about to sit in the hotel room like a sucker while the two of them had a grand ole time wandering through the streets of NY laughing about how they screwed me over. So I got dressed and headed out to explore the city.

My first stop: CHINATOWN! hehe.. I loved that place. I just love the culture and I had so much fun wandering through the streets and people watching. This was my favorite place in NY. Next, I headed for Central Park. I checked out the zoo and had a blast! The coolest was the Polar Bears and the Rainforest. I love the way the zoo was built. They made it seem like you were so close to the animals, that you could almost touch them. The Rainforest consisted of a big building with plants and trees and most of the animals roaming freely throughout the building. This one bird flew so close to me that I had to duck down. They even had Dart Poison Frogs! Awesome. I took lots of pictures. After the zoo, I explored more of central park.. about 30 blocks. Afterwards, I decided to go see the Empire State Building.

I got there around 7 and waited about an hour in line to buy my ticket. After purchasing your ticket, you take the escalator upstairs to wait in another line to take the elevators up to the top. As I was going up the escalator, I heard Lisa's voice. Huh? I looked up and there was Lisa and Nora two feet in front of me! As soon as I got off the escalator, I headed in the opposite direction. As I was turning a corner, I saw Nora look back and I swear she saw me! I thought to myself, PLEASE don't come look for me, I really don't want to talk to you both right now. I spent 10 minutes calming down then I headed for the elevators to go up. I never saw them again, and I'm so thankful for that. The view was GORGEOUS. Lights as far as you could see! New York city is truly spectacular.

I got back to the hotel and 15 minutes later Nora and Lisa showed up. We barely spoke to eachother. Nora made an effort to be friendly with me, but I was still really upset. Didn't she see what she did wrong? Wasn't she going to apologize? How could I have ever thought I was friends with a person like this? I decided I needed some fresh air. As a courtesy, I was about to say something to Nora, but she was under the covers and had apparently turned in for the night. So I just left. I walked to Longwood Gourmet and bought a bowl of fruit and a snapple. I discussed the day's events with HB. Ahh, the joy and convenience of cellular phones. About 30 minutes later, I headed back to the hotel. I grabbed a book, hopped into bed, and began reading. Nora said something to me, though now I don't remember what. I suppose it didn't even matter really, it was meant to just break the ice. I think she said something about plans for tomorrow. She said that we could go to Central Park. I replied, "I already went there." Surprised, she said "Well we can go to the Empire State Building."

"I already went there too."

"Oh you did? all that?"

"Yes, I've already seen everything."

"So you went to the Empire State Building? What time did you go?"

"The same time you did."

*Startled expression* "Oh.. oh.. you were there?"

"Yes."

Lisa decided to break her silence. "We didn't go up (to the top)."

Nora chimed in, "Yeah, we didn't go up to the top cuz the lady said that it was about another hour's wait after you buy your tickets."

Sorry, but do you really think that clears your conscience? That you didn't go up?? Because if the line hadn't been so long, you would have went up without me anyway! So don't give me that BS. Too bad I didn't have the guts to say that. The whole time i'm thinking.. What is the adult way to handle this? I don't want to make a scene, or blow this up completely. So the best thing I could come up with was say little and be polite when spoken to for the rest of the trip. Once you get home, you never have to deal with them again.

Remembering that startled expression on her face makes me so proud of myself, though. While I was a sucker before; unwilling to make a ripple in their pool, tagging along, going with whatever they wanted to do, making no objections, I actually found the courage to say SOMETHING that let them know I was onto their game and not in the mood to play.

Somehow afterwards, I managed to be civil with Nora and carried on a conversation of my day's events. Shortly thereafter, they went to bed and I stayed up late watching TV.

Sometime later I fell asleep with hope that tomorrow would be a better day.

 

previous   next