Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

NY - Day 2
Sat. 09.01.01 - Late in the city that sleeps not

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

This is part two of four on my diary of my trip to New York. For the sake of anonimity, Girl #1 will be known as "Lisa" and Girl #2 will be known as "Nora."

And so it continues...

I was determined to not make a repeat of yesterday. I grabbed my street map and held onto it. But Lisa was determined to stay in charge also. She got smart and picked up a subway map. We rode the subway to our first destination - Chinatown.

We actually hit up Little Italy first since both towns are near each other. We decided to eat in Little Italy for lunch (skipped breakfast). As we walked down Mulberry Street, we realized that almost ALL of the shops were restaurants! There must have been 50 of them! Probably more. We came across a quaint little place called La Mela. An older Italian gentleman hollered at us from across the street to come sit and eat. Of course we couldn't refuse. =) As we were seated, our waiter asked if we had been there before. When we answered no, he replied "This is a family style restaurant." Seeing the perplexed look on our faces he stated "We have no menus." hehe.. how cool! He then said "Don't worry, I take care of you!" And he sure did! He brought us a hella load of apetizers. Apetizers? They were more like the main course! After we stuffed ourselves silly, he asked us if we were ready for Pasta. OH MY GOD. hehe we told him that we were full, but we manage to make room for dessert. =) My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I LOVE ITALIAN FOOD! Little Italy was so wonderful. And I definitely want to visit Italy now! Honeymoon, perhaps? haha I guess we'll see.

Next we toured Chinatown. Awesome, again! We bought a bunch of touristy stuff then decided to leave because it was now 1 p.m. and we still needed to head for the Statue of Liberty. We got to Battery Park and purchased our tickets. However, the wait line for a ferry to the statue was LOOOONG. We waited about an hour and boarded a ferry. We had to wait about another hour to get into the statue, and even then the crown was closed off. The highest we'd be able to go was the pedestal. However, the view from up there was still spectacular. We stayed on the island until they forced us off at 5:30/6:00 p.m.

Afterwards, we ate dinner at Chinatown and headed back to the hotel. We decided to go to bed "early" because Lisa and Nora wanted to go to church the next morning. Before the trip, Nora had asked me if I wanted to go to church with them. I said sure, I'll go. But this night, they declared that they were going to church together, and I could sleep in, since they wanted to go to an early service. I was a little hurt with being left out, but I figured oh well, this gave me a chance to sleep in.

So I went to bed with hope that tomorrow would be an even better day. Little did I know.

 

previous   next