Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

Sleepless in San Jose
Sat. 8.18.01 - 7:13 a.m.

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

Why is it that on weekdays when I need to get to work by 8 a.m., I can't wake up? But yet, on the weekend, when I'm allowed to sleep in, I wake up before the crack of dawn? One of life's little mysteries I guess.

Something kind of amusing happened to me yesterday. After work, HB and I decided to go to Fry's. For those of you who aren't from the Bay Area and don't know what Fry's is, it's a chain of stores that sell Electronics. Anywhere from Hard Drives, to DVD's. Including Washers and Dryers. Which brings me back to my story. HB and I were looking at some hubs when I hear this cheery sales-pitchy voice coming all the way from the other end of the store. Where the washers and dryers are located. Now, let me tell you about her voice. You need to get this to understand why it was so funny. She had the classic salesman's pitch. Oh my, and the way she pronounced the words; she sounded so *excited* to be telling everyone about this new revolution in clothing maintenance. "In just TWO and a HALF minutes everyONE, we will be demonstrating.. blahblah MAYTAG washer *Smile* blahblah.. And the BEST PART, this show is FREE of charge! *ohmygosh look* NO COST to you at ALL! so PLEASE come JOIN US! *cheery grin*

A few minutes later, "..It can remove STAINS from GRASS, BLOOD, blahblah.." She was WAY too cheery when saying the word blood. Not only did she make the thought of getting blood out easier, a remarkable thing, but she also managed to make the WORD blood come out sounding like something we all WISH we had on our clothes, just so that we could put them in our revolutionary Maytag washers. Needless to say, I got out of there quick. Otherwise, who knows what that woman might have talked me into buying?

I'm so excited for New York! It's just two weeks from now! Today Nora and I are going to the Fashion District in SF. We need to look more like city diva, ya know? And yes, I realize that the fact that I even said that makes me so much LESS THAN a city diva. But it can't hurt to try!

Wish me bargains of luck!
Hamako

 

previous   next