Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

Top Ten Five Things You Can Do With Rice Candy
Sun. 05.09.04 - 9:57 a.m.

Feeling: wished this cold would go away! my nose is still icky.
Listening: silence
Quote:

This entry is in tribute to my friend John. I had another entry in mind, but as usual i got sidetracked and came up with this entry instead.

Like all things though, it's Pohae's fault. She called me the other night, screaming, that her daughter (Taylor) can now ride her bike without training wheels. Pohae was so excited she told her they were going to celebrate for dinner- and she could have whatever she wanted. Taylor chose "loco moco and candy." As I was talking to her, Taylor was munching away on Tamoe Ame Rice Candy.

Now let me tell you about this stuff. It's a kind of sweet, chewy candy that is covered in a clear wrapper (made from rice).. that's edible. So that was the thing when we were kids.. telling people "hey look, i'm going to eat this candy- AND THE WRAPPER TOO!." Thinkin we were oh so cool (cuz seriously, we were THAT bored).

It's funny though, while i was browsing the web for pics of this stuff, I came across a lot of sites (selling this candy) that make the claim that it comes with a toy or sticker.

False Advertising Punks.

I ate that crap all throughout my childhood and never, in my 23 years of existence have i EVER found a TOY in Tamoe Ame Rice Candy. I've only ever gotten a sticker. I sent a box to John once because I wanted him to try it. The dude has "texture issues" so of course he didn't like it. He did, however, get a temporary tattoo of a lion (and i got a suhweet pic out of the deal. but that story's for another time. hehe). Either way though, a tattoo is still sticker-like.

What's this "little amusing toy" they speak of?!

I pondered this for a while (three minutes, tops) and came to the conclusion.... Tamoe Ame Rice Candy IIIISS THE LITTLE AMUSING TOY!

And so I present to you, Dave Letterman-style....

"The Top Ten Five Things You Can Do With Tamoe Ame Rice Candy"

1. Spit Balls. I'd probably chew it a little to make it extra wet and sticky (you're welcome for the mental pic) and voila! The bestest spit balls in the world. And the tastiest, too.

2. Use the sticker as tape. This one isn't as fun. Unless you use it to tape your nose higher than it should be.

3. Fake boogers. Seriously. Think of all the rubber cement that goes wasted every year by school boys wishing to gross their little girl classmates out with rubber "boogers"

4. A Lint Picker. Use the sticky rice candy to pick up lint off your close. The sticker could work in this case, as well. Hell, create a fun new way to pick up anything your heart desires. You could start a new fad.

5.

i need more time to think. YES i'm that unfunny. hush.

 

previous   next