Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

Breathe
Mon. 03.29.04 - 10:15 p.m.

Feeling: teary-eyed and sleepy
Listening: Someday - Nickelback
Quote: "The most important things are hard to say, because words diminish them." -Stephen King

I was just on the phone with my sister. While we were talking, her baby, who had been sleeping, woke up. I could hear his sleepy 'just got up' whimper for to pick him up, as he wanted to sit on her lap. While all of this was going on in the background, she kept talking to me, as if she hadn't been interrupted.

I can't even remember what she was talking about.. all i kept thinking was of him. Trying to picture what he looks like now (the last time i saw him was about 6 1/2 months ago). Trying to imagine what it would be like if *I* were there. What it would feel like to be holding him.

I interrupted her to ask some question about him, and i guess she realized i was more interested in what he was doing than in our conversation. She put the phone to his face and tried to coax him into saying something. "Say hello to aunty.."

All i heard was his breathing.

But you know, that was enough. To make me tear up. God does she realize how LUCKY she is? I hope she does.

I'm sure she does. Who wouldn't?

It's times like this, that i miss home. That i realize how IMPORTANT family is. How UNIMPORTANT the trivial things are. How lucky i am. And how stupid i'd be if i shut myself off to the rest of the world just because i'm afraid of getting hurt.

SO WHAT. If that's the risk you have to take.. for a shot at more happiness than you've ever experienced in your whole life.. more happiness than you ever KNEW your heart could take.. then maybe it's worth it.

 

previous   next