Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

The Present Nazi
Mon. 03.15.04 - 12:42 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

I was talking to a friend of mine the other day. Actually, she�s more like an acquaintance. We used to work together a long time ago and since then, i've talked to her maybe 4 times over the past 3 years. Keep in mind the only reason I talked to her THIS time was because she tracked me down through ANOTHER friend, asking for my phone number and Yahoo ID (hehe I�ve been hiding from her on AIM).

The last time I talked to her (about a month ago) she had told me that she was sending me an invite to her baby shower. I was touched that she thought to include me but was also thrown off by it as we're just not that close and I don�t think I�ve seen her since I left my job that we worked at together.

Anyways, so I was talking to her online when she goes "i mailed out your invite. you should get it this week. are you gonna come?"

I had told her before that I wasn�t sure I would be able to make it because i don�t know my schedule yet plus I don�t have a car anymore. This time, I told her the same thing, that I wasn�t sure but that I�d try.

She replied "Well I understand the transportation issue. But i won't accept 'try'. The only way i'll forgive you for not coming is if you buy my baby a present"

She wasn't joking.

haha She goes on to tell me how i can either mail it directly to her house or use the address at her registry..

THEN SHE GIVES ME THE LINK TO THE REGISTRY

..and proceeds for the next 5 minutes to direct me through it to VERIFY that I can see all the information accurately.

argh. Am i being too touchy?

I mean, you don't ASK for presents! Plus she didn't even ask. It's like she just DECIDED that i was going to give her a present. So of course NOW i'm thinkin she just invited me for the present.

i mean, if it were any other friend i wouldn't think TWICE about it. and i would SO go out of my way to get them a great present. but seriously, i'm not kidding when i say i'm poor, ya know? Right now it's a matter of.. do i eat this week or does michelle's baby get a 50th present?

blahh so what do i do? i mean, we've never really been friends.. and we don't really have anything in common. so i'm thinkin maybe i should just get the present, ship it to her. don't go to the shower and be done with it all. like, don't talk to her again, really

ugh. stupid parties are SO out of hand these days

 

previous   next