Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

Walk This Way
Fri. 12.19.03 - 9:41 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

A wise person suggested once that you can almost completely read a person by the sound of their footsteps. I'd have to say i agree with this theory.

What do my own footsteps say about me? Well, i tend to walk fast. yeah yeah, make your little joke about how i'm "only" 5'4. How far can i possibly travel in a short amount of time, right? But ask anyone i know and they'll tell you.. i walk fast. I mean, i don't think i look like i'm in a rush when i'm walking, but i've had friends ask me to slow down if we're together, or gotten frustrated with people for walking too damn slow because i've had to stop several times to let them catch up with me.

I think it's so indicative of how i'm always charging through life.. On a mission. Heading straight for what i want. Trying not to slow down for fear of losing sight of whatever it is that i'm seeking. Yeah.. i walk fast. I get frustrated when people get in my path and move slower than me, forcing me to slow down. Ironic how life is like that as well.. the little hurdles that force you to change pace, the issues that arise every now and then; everyone has them. I've never been graceful about it though.. getting through those tough times. i hate having to slow down. But i guess the key is just to get through it somehow.. no matter your pace.

You know, i even talk fast sometimes. hehe.. i think it's part of the hawaii accent though. Although i try to tone it down to fit into my new life here away from the islands, every now and then i'll get too comfortable, "in my happy place" and when i talk.. even if it's just a single sentence, the words roll off my tongue so fast my friends have to ask me to repeat myself. heh, that's kinda funny now that i think about it. yeah, i'm pretty sure that's the hawaii accent at work.. but it's more than that too. i get excited, can't wait to share with everyone what i'm thinking, feeling. Afraid i'll forget what i have to say because there's just so many things!

But i digress.

The thing is, most of the time I refuse to slow down. Now more than ever, I need to keep my pace. ...or i'll never get to where i want to be.



 

previous   next