Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

The beginning of WWIII
Mon. 10.08.01 - 12:02 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

Well if it wasn't official before, it is now- we're at war. Yesterday, the U.S. military began it's attack on Afghanistan. I didn't find out about this until late last night. Goes to show how effective my attempt has been in avoiding the news. Yesterday, I managed to drag my cold-stricken butt outta bed to go watch a movie. We saw "Don't Say A Word." As expected, it was good. We had a nice afternoon. It wasn't until late in the evening did I begin to wonder if something had happened. Why? I decided to take a peek at the Emmy's on NBC. I usually don't have an interest in award shows, but this one was supposed to be different. Imagine my surprise when I flipped the channel and was greeted by a flashing news banner proclaiming "America Strikes Back."

I'm scared. This is very scary. This morning, as I sat in bed watching the news (back at it again!), I suddenly felt panic as I heard a plane fly overhead. How sad that it has come to this. I'm worried for the innocent people in Afghanistan. I'm worried for America's future. The world's future. Will we destroy the Earth? I'm worried what terrorists will do to us next.

At the same time, I am proud. Proud that while we have declared a fight against the government of Afghanistan, we are still compasionate enough to drop food and supplies for the innocent citizens of Afghanistan. I am proud to be a citizen of this country. Where my freedom and the freedom of thousands of others is fought for, without hesitation, by the members of the U.S. military. Proud.

I wish everyone a safe and happy Columbus (Discoverer's) Day.

 

previous   next