Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

The Aftermath
Wed. 09.12.01 - 6:32 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

"I wish I could go and dig myself," one woman whose missing husband worked in one of the upper floors of a World Trade Center tower told National Public Radio.

"He could be dying, and I'm not there to hold his hand," she said, choking on tears. "He could be in pain, and I can't help him.


This is so horrible! I just keep thinking about those people that we KNOW are trapped in the basement. They called their family from cell phones! We know they're in there. Why are they not out yet?? I know that rescue workers can't just rush in, that the building is still unstable, that they're doing the best that they can, but I feel just like that woman. I wish that we all could just go in there and DIG. Get those people out. Because we know there are people alive.. and I don't want anything to happen to them. Not in this way. They're alive, and we need to get them out!

HB and I have been clinging to each other since yesterday. Or maybe it's just me and he's cooperating. I feel so sad and scared. As i'm sure everyone else does. Some people even feel anger and hatred. I think that we should concentrate on the rescue efforts first. Then we can think about our strategy later. I hear so much talk of completely wiping out Afghanistan. I don't know if that's such a good idea. I'm so afraid of this becoming World War III. I've come to realize that i'm naive. I never thought that i'd see war in my lifetime. I'm afraid for how this will turn out. I'm afraid that we'll anihilate eachother. That we'll destroy our Earth. I do think that something needs to be done, someone needs to be punished for what has happened, but I don't know if exterminating an entire country is the solution. We don't even know if they are responsible! I think Bin Laden should be taken out either way, but we also need to know who did this. Has anyone noticed how some of the clues are just so damned OBVIOUS? Why would there be a FLIGHT MANUAL WRITTEN IN ARABIC in the parked car left at the airport? Why would one of the terrorists' luggage containing a substantial amount of evidence pointing to Bin Laden conveniently not have made it on the plane? When this tragedy first started, I was ready to jump on the bandwagon and rush to the immediate conclusion that Bin Laden was responsible. But now i'm skeptical. I want us to be 100% sure that he is responsible. What if someone else (an enemy of Bin Laden or Afghanistan) orchestrated this whole ordeal in the hopes that we would retaliate against him. We need to have our facts straight before we start blowing things up.

On a lighter note, but then again not so light, something weird happened to me today. I sent a postcard to HB the first day I was in NY, but it never arrived. After over a week, I decided that it just got lost and we'd never see it again. Today (Wednesday), I checked the mail.. and guess what was in it? The postcard. Of New York. It would have arrived on Tuesday, the day of the attack, except the Post Offices were closed.

Love and Prayers,
Hamako

 

previous   next