Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

I'm going to Yemen!
Tues. 7.31.01 - 2:21 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

Why do I dig these holes for myself? WHY? Is it because I LIKE having drama in my life?

Yesterday, an ex-coworker IMed me. She was just being friendly, saying hi. But somehow, I got it in my head that she was upset that I had gone to dinner with another ex-coworker from the same company just one week earlier. So I began to feel guilty, and in an effort to clear my conscience I said "We should go out to dinner sometime." Mind you, not expecting her to respond with a "Yes, we should" and start making dinner reservations. So before the day was over, I had plans to have dinner with all of my ex-coworkers at some over-priced restaurant. How did this suddenly turn into a company picnic?

This morning, I decided that I needed to find a way out of this rather sticky situation. After a few hours of attempting to come up with an excuse, this was my result:

Hamakosan: Hey Jan, I don't think I'm gonna be able to make it today.
Hamakosan: Actually, I know i'm not.
Hamakosan: My doctor called, and apparently I have to go pick up a prescription right after work, so with the traffic and everything, I won't be able to make it back on time.
Anonymous: Well, your health comes first.

Do you think she knows?

And then I say: "I'm really sorry. Give my apologies to everyone. But hey, maybe we can reschedule for next week?"

This sounds awfully similar to that episode of Friends where Chandler tries to break up with Janis by telling her that he's moving to Yemen.

Guiltfully yours,
Hamako

 

previous   next