Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

the price of war
Thurs. 04.08.04 - 9:11 p.m.

Feeling: mournful
Listening: letters from home - jmm
Quote: "Birth and Death are the two noblest expressions of bravery." -Kahlil Gibran

chicken skin. It's the term islanders use in place of "goosebumps."

I just got through talking to my aunty from Hawaii. She told me about how a guy from our town was brutally tortured and killed last week over in Iraq.

I checked out one of the newspapers online to get more info, and here's the article i came across.

One of his family members is quoted in the article having said of him, "I admired him because for a local boy, he has such high hopes and dreams. And with him being over there, it shows he followed through with them."

I'm sitting here, reading this article.. and i have to stop halfway through. I have chicken skin. You know, i had been thinking a lot about the situation in Iraq this past week. More than usual, for some reason. So much so, that i wanted to post a link on here the other day.. but thought nah, people wouldn't care.

Fuck it, i care.

Operation Dear Abby

Show your appreciation, because whether you agree with a war or not, there are people in this world who put their lives in jeopardy every single day.. to fight for others.

I will never understand why people insist upon hurting one another this way. It doesn't matter what God you believe in, even if you DON'T believe in a God, we're all people. with loved ones. thoughts. hearts. and dreams.

How dare someone take that away from another human being.


------------------------
Letters from Home
- John Michael Montgomery


My dearest son it�s almost June
I hope this letter catches up with you
And finds you well
It�s been dry but they�re callin� for rain
And everything�s the same ol� same
In Johnsonville
Your stubborn old daddy ain�t said too much
But I�m sure you know he sends his love
And she goes on in a letter from home

I hold it up and show my buddies
Like we ain�t scared and our boots ain�t muddy
And they all laugh like there�s something� funny �bout the way I talk
When I say mama sends her best y�all
I fold it up and put it in my shirt
Pick up my gun and get back to work
And it keeps me drivin� on
Waitin� on letters from home

My dearest love it�s almost dawn
I�ve been lyin� here all night long
Wonderin� where you might be
I saw your mama and I showed her the ring
Man on the television said something
So I couldn�t sleep
But I�ll be alright I�m just missin� you
And this is me kissin� you
X�s and O�s in a letter from home

I hold it up and show my buddies
Like we ain�t scared and our boots ain�t muddy
And they all laugh �cause she calls me honey
But they take it hard �cause I don�t read the good parts
I fold it up and put it in my shirt
Pick up my gun and get back to work
And it keeps me drivin� on
Waitin� on letters from home

Dear son I know I ain�t written
Sittin� here tonight alone in the kitchen it occurs to me
I might not have said it so I�ll say it now
Son you make me proud

I hold it up and show my buddies
Like we ain�t scared and our boots ain�t muddy
But no one laughs �cause there ain�t nothin� funny when a soldier cries
And I just wipe my eyes
I fold it up and put it in my shirt
Pick up my gun and get back to work
And it keeps me drivin� on
Waitin� on letters from home


 

previous   next