Current - Random - Archive - Profile - LOL - Host - Email - Notes - Guestbook

The Idea Thief
Wed. 01.21.04 - 11:40 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening:
Quote:

I got a little peeved today at work. As soon as i got in the door, my "boss" noticed that i had brought some journals with me to work on. She immediately commented on it and told me how she's actually been working on a few herself. She then proceeded to show me said journals. I almost cried.

I know i'm about to sound REALLY arrogant and that sucks, because i'm the first person to criticize my own work.. but i mean, at least i know i've poured my heart into each and every book. As well as time, energy and creativity. Hers just looked like she slapped them together in 10 minutes. Just about every journal had something crooked glued onto it.

My heart just kind of sank.

I mean, what am i supposed to say, "oh great!" ugh. You asked me to make 50 of these for you. I'm trying to be legit here and you not only try to capitalize on my idea but you also go so far as to COPY a few of my designs that i previously showed you. I didn't say a damn thing to her about the copying, though i know i should have. and what's funny is she was actually the one that pointed it out. And her justification? "oh when you copyright these, then i won't copy them anymore, but till then.." WTH?!

I don't want my books being sold alongside hers. It'll just cheapen the whole thing. blahh but whatever. I guess i'll just have to suck it up, make those books, get some packaging on them and design a label. At least that way they'll be set apart from hers.

Blahh damn Ethan. He was going to help me with that part. I mean, i can do it on my own no problem.. it's just.. it would have been nice, you know? To not just work with him on that.. but to have someone share that with me. The whole experience. but whatever. guess it just goes back to "if they don't care like you do, then they don't deserve to have you care in the first place." I just wish he'd have cared enough.. hmph. oh well. Guess here's where i learn that i can't depend on anyone. Not that i NEED to, but just that i CAN'T; no one is that reliable. That's ok though, i'm tired of dealing with other people anyway. Maybe i'll become a hermit. hehe

 

previous   next